WASHINGTON, DC — Minimum wage is a much-debated topic around the country. The Department of Labor reports that since July 2009, when the minimum wage was last raised to $7.25 an hour, the cost of living has increased close to 12 percent. Since the increase in 2009, many have tried to increase it again as the years passed, but attempts at a federal level were unsuccessful. However, many states, counties, and cities have taken their higher cost of living into account and have recently raised their minimum wage to accommodate their citizens. As of July 1st, 2017 the following places have increased their minimum wage:
- Chicago – $11 per hour;
- Cook County, IL – $10 per hour;
- Flagstaff, AZ – $10.50 per hour;
- Los Angeles County – $12 per hour ($10.50 for employers with 25 or less employees);
- Maryland – $9.25 per hour;
- Montgomery County, MD – $11.50 per hour;
- Oregon – $10.25 per hour ($10 for rural counties);
- Pasadena, CA – $12 for larger employers ($10.50 for smaller employers);
- Portland, OR – $11.25 per hour for metropolitan area;
- San Francisco – $14 per hour;
- San Jose – $12 per hour; and
- Washington, DC – $12.50 per hour.
You may or may not be aware of these changes, so it is important if you live in these places to check your recent paycheck to ensure you are earning the correct amount. If not, you may be able to file a claim.
Minimum Wage and Overtime Violations
According to the suit brought by the Department of Labor, the company paid employees on a “piece work” basis that amounted to less than minimum wage and failed to pay overtime wages to employees working more than 40 hours per week. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), a piece rate is the amount of money paid per task performed or piece produced. A piece may be used to determine commensurate wages if it includes consideration of quantity and quality of production and an allowance factor that includes personal time, fatigue, and delay. However, a proper piece rate must equal at least the minimum wage.
Additionally, overtime must be paid at a rate of at least one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for each hour worked in a workweek. For employees paid on a piecework basis, regular rate of pay is obtained by dividing the total weekly earnings by the total number of hours worked in that week. The employee is entitled to an additional one-half times this regular rate for each hour over forty, plus the full piecework earnings.
How do I file a Lawsuit?
Call (855) 754-2795 or complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review form on the top right of this page if you believe that your wage rights are being violated under the FLSA. Our top-rated team of unpaid wage lawyers will evaluate your situation to determine your best course of action to help you seek justice.
Our office will also determine if it is in your best interest to file a lawsuit against your employer. Because strict time limitations apply for filing these types of claims, we advise you contact our experienced unpaid overtime wage attorneys at your earliest convenience and preserve your legal rights.