DETROIT — The Michigan Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid. The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Michigan Overtime Pay Laws
Employees are required to receive compensation at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is employed for employment in a workweek in excess of 40 hours in a workweek, unless otherwise exempt. The overtime minimum wage is $11.10 per hour. Exemptions include but not limited to: Executives, Administrates, Professionals, an employee employed in the capacity of Academic Administrative Personnel or Teacher in an elementary or secondary school.
If an individual is not paid overtime wages and is entitled to that pay, the Michigan overtime law provides that unpaid overtime can still be collected up to three years from the date the pay was earned. This is different compared to the Federal Law, which provides that two years can be collected, up to three years if the employer was consciously and intentionally violating the overtime pay law.
Michigan Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage rate is $8.50 per hour. An employer may pay a new employee who is less than 20 years of age a training hourly wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of that employee’s employment. Additionally, tipped employees may be paid $2.65 per hour provided they receive and report tips that when combined with their hourly rate equals or exceeds the minimum hourly wage rate.
Under the State’s laws, Michigan employers must provide workers under the age of 18 with a thirty minute uninterrupted rest period if scheduled to work more than five consecutive hours. However, the law does not require employers to provide breaks, including lunch breaks, for workers eighteen (18) years old or older. An employer who chooses to provide a meal, lunch, or break period must completely relieve employees of their work duties for the break period to be unpaid. Visit http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-61256_11407_32352-140972–,00.html to learn more about Minimum Wage Laws.
Michigan Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs website.
Largest Cities in Michigan Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Michigan provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Grand Rapids
- Sterling Heights
- Ann Arbor
Commonly Asked Michigan Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Michigan have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the Michigan wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Michigan Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Michigan wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.