The Wisconsin Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Wisconsin Overtime Pay Laws
The Overtime Pay Laws requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours per week, unless otherwise exempt. The overtime minimum wage is $10.88 per hour.
While some states have daily overtime limit which entitles any employee who works for more then a certain number of hours in a single day to be paid overtime, WI does not have a daily overtime limit.
If you work involves manual labor you are generally covered under the overtime laws. In addition, first-responders, including police, paramedics, and firefighters are specifically offered overtime protection under the FLSA.
Employees not required to receive overtime pay include executives, administrators, and other professionals earning at least $455 per week.
External salespeople are also generally exempted from the overtime requirements, as well as some types of computer-related workers, independent contractors, transportation workers, certain agricultural and farm workers, and some live-in employees such as housekeepers.
Click here to learn more about the overtime laws.
Wisconsin Minimum Wage Laws
The Wisconsin minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour.
A special minimum wage of $5.90 per hour ($2.13 per hour for tipped employees) is applicable to “Opportunity Employees” under 20 years old who have worked for less then 90 days with their current employer.
Unlike many other states, WI sets specific minimum pay rates for several occupations that are exempt from the regular minimum wage. This includes:
- All agricultural and farm employees, who are usually exempt from the minimum wage, are guaranteed the full minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
- A special minimum wage exists for golf caddies (who are completely exempt in most other states), of $5.90 per 9 holes and $10.50 for 18 holes.
- Minimum pay rates for camp counselors (including minors) are $210 per week with board & lodging, $265 per week with board only, and $350 per week with no board or lodging provided.
The State does now require employers to provide breaks, including lunch breaks, for workers 18 years of age or older.
Workers under the age of 18 are required to have at least a 30 minute duty free meal period when a working shift is greater than six hours in duration.
Click here to learn more about the Minimum Wage Laws.
Wisconsin Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development.
Largest Cities in Wisconsin Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Wisconsin provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Green Bay
- Eau Claire
Commonly Asked Wisconsin Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Wisconsin have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the Wisconsin wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Wisconsin Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Wisconsin wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.