The Washington Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Washington Overtime Pay Laws
The Overtime Pay Laws requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours in a week, unless otherwise exempt.
In Washington, it is legal for businesses to make overtime mandatory even if the workers do not want to do so, and even on a day that is normally a scheduled day off. There is an exception to this rule – registered nurses and licensed practical nurses.
Workers who are not required to receive overtime pay include, but not limited to workers employed on farms or ranches, seasonal employees at agricultural fairs, newspaper vendors or carriers, occasional labor in or about private residences, forest protection, seamen on American or foreign vessel, vessel operating crews of WA State ferries operated by DOT, public elective or appointive offices, volunteers for a profit or nonprofit organization, and more.
Employees cannot waive their right to overtime pay, however the State does allow a worker to request time off at a later time instead of being paid overtime wages in each pay period. This sometimes called “comp time” or “exchange time.”
Click here to learn more about the Washington overtime pay laws.
Washington Minimum Wage Laws
The Washington minimum wage is currently set at $9.47 per hour. The state has the highest minimum wage compared to all other states in the U.S.
The minimum wage act applies to workers in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs, although 14 and 15 year olds may be paid 85% of the minimum wage ($8.05).
There are also other exceptions, however most workers must be paid the minimum wage for all “hours worked” as required by state law.
“Hours worked” includes opening and closing the business, and required meetings and training. Any time spent by an employee in the performance of these duties must be recorded and paid.
For employees who receive tips, businesses may not use tips as credit towards minimum wages owed to a worker.
If more than five hours are worked in a shift, workers must be allowed at least a 30 minute meal period. This 30 minute break can only be taken after at least two hours of the shift have been worked.
Employers are required to post the “Your Rights as a Worker” poster, which provides information about minimum wage and other topics.
Click here to learn more about the Washington Minimum Wage Laws.
Washington Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries.
Largest Cities in Washington Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Washington provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- East Seattle
- Federal Way
Commonly Asked Washington Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Washington have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the Washington wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Washington Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Washington wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.