The Vermont Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Vermont Overtime Pay Laws
Vermont follows the FLSA and requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours in a week unless the employee is considered exempt.
There are some exceptions to overtime pay requirement, which include employees working in the business of retail, service, hotels, recreation, hospitals, or nursing homes.
Employment that is not subject to overtime requirements may be subject to federal overtime, if the work is in interstate commerce (i.e. credit card transactions), or in a business with an annual gross volume of sales of $500,000 or more.
Overtime is usually based on more than 40 hours of actual work per week. Benefit hours are seperate and should be shown as separate in the payroll records.
Although salary agreements are not covered directly under VT law, an employer is required to pay minimum wage for hours worked if the employee is salaried-exempt.
Click here to learn more about the Vermont overtime pay laws.
Holidays and Sundays are normal workdays as far as wage and hour laws are concerned, therefore an employee is not required to receive overtime pay for hours worked on such days.
Vermont Minimum Wage Laws
The Vermont minimum wage is currently set at $9.60 per hour.
There are some exceptions to the wage act, including but not limited to, full time high school students, agriculture workers, taxi cab drivers, outside salesperson, newspaper or advertisement home delivery persons, persons employed in the activities of a publicly supported non profit organization (except employees and nurses aids or practical nurses, a person employed in a bone fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity, a person employed in domestic service in or about a home, a person employed by the U.S.
Click here to learn more about the Vermont Minimum Wage Laws.
With the written authorization of an employee, an employer may pay wages due to the worker by deposit through electronic funds transfer or other direct deposit systems to a checking, savings or other deposit account maintained by the employee.
Employers may not pay an employees wages with a debit card.
In addition, under the State’s law, an employer can suspend you without pay as long as there is no violation of the terms and conditions of a written policy.
Vermont Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Vermont Department of Labor.
Largest Cities in Vermont Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Vermont provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- South Burlington
- Essex Junction
Commonly Asked Vermont Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Vermont have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Vermont Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Vermont wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.