Tennessee Overtime Pay Laws: Memphis Unpaid Wage Attorneys
Tennessee Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

Tennessee Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

The Tennessee Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.

The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.

There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.

Tennessee Overtime Pay Laws

There are no state laws governing the payment of overtime, however federal laws do apply that are set by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

The FLSA creates two classifications of workers for purpose of overtime wages. The two classifications are exempt and non-exempt.

Depending on what type of classification an employee is will determine if an employer is required to pay overtime pay to their employees who work overtime.

It is not uncommon for employers to misclassify an employee in order to avoid paying them overtime pay.

Overtime is considered any hours in excess of 40 hours in a work week. If you have worked over 40 hours and have not received overtime pay, it is important that you contact an employment lawyer to ensure that you are classified correctly and determine if you are eligible to receive wages.

In addition, under federal law there is no limit to how much overtime an employer can require of an employee, as long as the employee is paid in accordance with the law, and the mandatory overtime does not create a safety risk.

Click here for more information on the laws.

Tennessee Minimum Wage Laws

Tennessee has not established a minimum wage rate. Therefore, the federal rate applies to those employed in the State. Currently, the federal minimum wage is set at $7.25 per hour.

There is no minimum number of employees that must work for an employer before the employer is responsible to comply with FLSA standards.

Tennessee employers must provide a 30-minute rest period to employees who are scheduled to work six (6) consecutive hours, except in workplace environments where the nature of the business provides for ample opportunity to rest or take an appropriate break.

Employers are not required by state law to provide any other breaks. However, if an employer chooses to do so, non-meal breaks, usually of the type lasting less than twenty (20) minutes, must be paid.

Employers are not required to provide employees with vacation benefits, either paid or unpaid. If an employer chooses to provide such benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contact.

Tennessee Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource

An excellent resource for information is the Tennessee Department of Labor.

Largest Cities in Tennessee Providing Jobs

The ten largest cities in TN provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:

  1. Memphis
  2. Metropolitan Government
  3. Nashville-Davidson
  4. Knoxville
  5. Chattanooga
  6. Clarksville
  7. Murfreesboro
  8. Jackson
  9. Johnson City
  10. Franklin

Commonly Asked Tennessee Overtime Pay Questions

You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:

  • How much is overtime pay?
  • Am I entitled to overtime pay?
  • Does Tennessee have mandatory overtime laws?
  • What is the minimum wage and hour law?
  • When is overtime owed?
  • What is the overtime rate?
  • How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?

Free Legal Advice For Tennessee Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims

If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.

We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.

To file a Tennessee wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.

You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.

Tennessee Overtime Pay Lawyers Review

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Workers Compensation Lawyer
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Text Now For Free Case Review