The Rhode Island Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Rhode Island Overtime Pay Laws
Rhode Island overtime pay laws requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours in a week.
If you work in non-retail and work more than 40 hours in a week and 8 hours on a holiday, the hours in excess of forty are to be paid at time and one-half, the holiday is to be paid at time and one-half and the remainder is to be paid straight time.
If you work in retail, the holiday hours are extracted first and paid at time and on-behalf. If there are hours over 40 in the balance, these hours are to be paid at time and one-half also.
Click here to learn more about the overtime law.
An employer must keep an accurate daily and weekly (time in and out) record for all employees. No one, including employees paid on a salary basis, is exempt from this law. These records, along with payroll records, must be kept for at least three years.
Rhode Island Minimum Wage Laws
The RI minimum wage is currently set at $9.60 per hour. There are some exceptions to the law.
These exceptions include full-time students under the age of 19 working in nonprofit religious, educational, librarian, or community service organizations, 14 and 15 year olds who do not work more than 24 hours in a week, and workers employed in domestic service in or about a private home, federal service, voluntary service in educational, charitable, religious or nonprofit organizations where employer/employee relationships do not exist (i.e. newspaper carriers, shoe shine persons, caddies on gold courses).
The minimum wage for wait staff must be paid at $2.89 per hour and the amount of tips received must bring this amount to $9.60 for all hours worked.
A twenty-minute meal period must be given to employees who work a six-hour shift, and a thirty-minute meal period must be given during an eight-hour shift.
This does not include healthcare facilities or companies employing less than three employees at one site during a shift.
Rhode Island Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Rhode Island Department of Labor & Training.
Largest Cities in Rhode Island Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Rhode Island provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- East Providence
- North Providence
- West Warwick
Commonly Asked Rhode Island Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay ?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Rhode Island have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Rhode Island Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Rhode Island wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.