The Pennsylvania Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Pennsylvania Overtime Pay Laws
The Pennsylvania overtime pay laws requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours in one week, with some exceptions.
Salaried employees are able to receive overtime pay.
Employees who are considered exempt may not be able to receive overtime pay.
Exempt employees could include executive, administrative, and professional employees, as well as supervisors who are employed solely to supervise.
Your actual daily job duties and what your employment contract states determines if you are eligible to receive overtime pay.
Compensatory time off in place of payment for overtime is not legal.
The number of employees an employer has has no bearing on the payment of overtime. However, it may impact the minimum wage rate.
Employers are able to enforce employees to work overtime hours. If you refuse to work overtime, your employer may discipline or terminate you.
Click here to learn more about the Pennsylvania overtime law.
Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Laws
The Pennsylvania minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour.
Employers with the equivalent of 10 or less full-time employees calculated on a 40-hour week can follow a different rate schedule.
Click here to learn more about the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Laws.
Employers are required to provide break periods of at least 30 minutes for minors ages 14 through 17 who work five or more consecutive hours. Employers are not required to give breaks for employees 18 and over.
If your employer allows breaks, and they last less than 20 minutes, you must be paid for the break.
The same goes for lunch breaks. If you employer allows meal periods, the employer is not required to pay you for your meal period if you do not work during the break and it lasts more than 20 minutes.
A collective bargaining agreement may also govern this issue.
Pennsylvania Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry.
Largest Cities in Pennsylvania Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Pennsylvania provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
Commonly Asked Pennsylvania Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Pennsylvania have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Pennsylvania Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Pennsylvania wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.