The Oregon Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Oregon Overtime Pay Laws
The overtime pay laws requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours per workweek.
Special overtime rules do apply to government agencies, hospitals, canneries and manufacturing establishments.
All salaried employees must be paid overtime unless they meet the test for exempt status as defined by federal and state laws.
However, employees should note that misclassification of salaried employees as exempt does create liability for unpaid overtime. It is the employer’s burden to prove exempt status of employees.
In most scenarios, employees are not owed overtime if they work a certain number of hours in a day. For example, an employee works 24 hours in one day will not be owed overtime pay if he or she works no more than 40 hours in the workweek.
The only exception to this law is employees of manufacturing establishments – they must receive overtime pay after 10 hours in a day, as well as special overtime rules that apply to government agencies, canneries and some hospital employees.
For more information about the Oregon overtime laws click here.
Oregon Minimum Wage Laws
The Oregon minimum wage is currently set at $9.75 per hour. Even though federal minimum rage is $7.25, employers in Oregon must pay the state minimum wage.
Law requires all employers to pay the most beneficial wage to the employer when state and federal laws conflict. In this scenario, Oregon minimum wage laws are higher than federal, and therefore a more beneficial wage to the employee.
For employees who receive tips, employers may not count employees tips against the minimum wage. For employees who are paid on commission, the minimum wage law in Oregon still applies.
Unless an employee falls into an exempt category, the employer must pay the employee at least minimum wage for all hours actually worked.
Oregon differs from federal law as well with its rules on payment of new employees and payment of training wage which is below the minimum wage. Unlike federal law, Oregon law does require employees to receive at least minimum wage during all stages of employment. This includes any period of on-the-job training.
Click here to learn more about the Oregon Minimum Wage Laws.
Oregon Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Oregon Department of Labor Commissioner.
Largest Cities in Oregon Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Oregon provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Northwest Clackamas
- Somerset West Rock Creek
Commonly Asked Oregon Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Oregon have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Oregon Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file an Oregon wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.