The Ohio Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Ohio Overtime Pay Laws
The Ohio Minimum Fair Wage Standards requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours per week.
However, if an employee is considered “exempt” they may not necessarily be required to receive overtime pay from their employer.
While some states have daily overtime limit which entitles any employee who works for more than a certain number of hours in a single day to be paid overtime, the State of Ohio does not have a daily overtime limit.
Overtime pay laws are developed to prevent workers from being exploited by their employers, with hourly wage earners (particularly those in blue-collar industries) being the primarily protected group.
Due to the nature of the work environment and working hours required by certain careers, there are a wide variety of specific exemptions to Ohio overtime pay eligibility.
For more information of whether or not you are entitled to overtime pay or considered an “exempt” employee, it is important that you contact a qualified Ohio overtime pay attorney to discuss your situation.
Ohio Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $8.10 per hour for employers whose gross receipts are greater than $288,000.00.
The minimum wage from employers with gross receipts below the threshold is $7.25 (also the federal minimum wage).
There are some exceptions that apply to Ohio’s minimum wage requirements.
Click here to learn more about the Ohio Minimum Wage Laws.
In the State of Ohio, employers must provide employees under the age of 18 a 30-minute uninterrupted break when working more than five consecutive hours.
However, for employees over the age of 18, employers are not required to provide breaks, including lunch breaks.
An employer is not required to pay wages for lunches or other periods in excess of 20 minutes if the employee is free to leave the work-site.
Ohio Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Ohio Department of Commerce.
Largest Cities in Ohio Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Ohio provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
Commonly Asked Ohio Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Ohio have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Ohio Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file an Ohio wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.