The North Dakota Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
North Dakota Overtime Pay Laws
The North Dakota Wage and Hour Law requires employers to pay its workers one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours per week.
If you are a salaried employee you still may be entitled to overtime pay.
Employees are entitled to overtime pay unless the actual work duties they perform the majority of their work time meet one or more of the exceptions stated in labor law. Simply being paid on a salary basis is not enough to make an employee exempt from overtime pay.
Overtime must be calculated each workweek regardless of the length of the pay period.
Overtime need only be computed for actual hours worked. Vacation days, paid holidays, or sick days (time not worked) do not need to be included in an overtime computation.
Non-exempt employees in the private sector cannot be granted compensatory time in lieu of monetary overtime compensation.
Click here to learn more about the North Dakota overtime laws.
North Dakota Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour and is adjusted when the federal wage rate is adjusted.
For employees that receive tips and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips may be paid a minimum direct wage of $4.86 per hour, subject to some requirements.
However, the tips earned plus the direct wage paid by the employer must equal the full minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked.
Employers are required to maintain written records verifying that tipped employees receive at least the full minimum wage for all hours worked when the direct wage and tips are combined.
Click here to learn more about the North Dakota Minimum Wage Laws.
North Dakota Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the North Dakota Department of Labor and Human Rights.
Largest Cities in North Dakota Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of North Dakota provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Grand Forks
Commonly Asked North Dakota Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does North Dakota have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For North Dakota Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a North Dakota wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.