The North Carolina Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
North Carolina Overtime Pay Laws
With the exception of exempt workers, the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act requires employers to pay overtime. The rate in which they must be paid is one and one-half time the regular rate for hours worked in excess for 40 hours per week.
Being a salaried employee does not exempt them from the overtime pay requirements.
A salaried employee should still be paid the determined overtime rate by law. If they are not, then a determination needs to be made of whether or not the employee is a salaried-exempt employee or not.
There are no wage and hour laws that limit the amount of hours that a person 18 years of age or older may be required to work either by the day, week, or number or days in a row.
An employer is free to adjust the hours of its employees regardless of what the employees are scheduled to work. These rules apply to both large corporations and small businesses.
Employers can make the working of overtime hours mandatory as a condition of employment. Therefore, if an employee refuses to work overtime regardless of how many hours the employee has already worked that day or workweek, an employer can fire that employee.
Click here to learn more about the North Carolina overtime laws.
North Carolina Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour and is adjusted when the federal wage rate is adjusted.
There is an exception when it comes to agricultural and domestic employees. For employers who have “tipped employees,” there will also be a change in the required minimum rate of pay.
Employers are permitted to take a credit, for a certain amount of tips earned by their employees, toward the employer’s payment of the minimum wage.
However, for an employer to be able to count tips as wages and take a tip credit toward the minimum wage, the state labor law requires that tipped employees be notified in advance and be permitted to retain all tips, as well as employers must maintain accurate and complete records of tips received by each employee.
Visit http://www.nclabor.com/wh/fact%20sheets/overtimepay.htm to learn more about the North Carolina Labor Laws.
North Carolina Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the North Carolina Department of Labor.
Largest Cities in North Carolina Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of North Carolina provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- High Point
Commonly Asked North Carolina Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does North Carolina have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For North Carolina Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a North Carolina wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.