The New Mexico Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
New Mexico Overtime Pay Laws
The New Mexico Minimum Wage Act generally requires payment of overtime at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a week of 7 days.
Some exceptions tot the 40 hours per week standard apply under special circumstances to police officers and firefighters employed by public agencies and to employees of hospitals and nursing homes.
Workers earning less than $23,600 per year, or $455 per week are guaranteed overtime protection. This regulation took effect on August 23, 2004.
Click here to learn more about the New Mexico overtime laws.
New Mexico Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $7.50 per hour. Additionally, Albuquerque’s minimum wage is 8.50 per hour and Santa Fe’s minimum wage is $10.51 per hour.
Other programs that allow for payment of less than the full federal minimum wage apply to workers with disabilities, full-time students, and student-learners employed pursuant to sub-minimum wage certifications. These programs are also not limited to young workers.
There are no laws in New Mexico that require employers to provide lunch breaks or meal periods to employees. Therefore for breaks, federal rule applies.
However, if an employer chooses to provide a for employees under the age of 20, federal law has established a special minimum wage of $4.25 per hour. This would hold during their first 90 consecutive break or meal period, it must be paid if it lasts less than thirty minutes.
Click here to learn more about the New Mexico Minimum Wage Laws.
Largest Cities in New Mexico Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of New Mexico provide jobs and income to both their own resident and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Las Cruces
- Rio Rancho
- Santa Fe
- South Valley
Commonly Asked New Mexico Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does New Mexico have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
New Mexico Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource
An excellent resource for information is the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions.
Free Legal Advice For New Mexico Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a New Mexico wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.