The New Jersey Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
New Jersey Overtime Pay Laws
The New Jersey Wage and Hour Law generally requires payment of overtime at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 in any one week. While some employees are exempted, all private employees are covered under this law.
Under the wage and hour law, you do have the right to assert either in a court of law an action on behalf of yourself or one behalf of yourself and others that you are not being paid the proper overtime rates. You also have the right to make administrative complaints to the Department of Labor.
Click here to learn more about the New Jersey overtime laws.
New Jersey Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $8.38 per hour.
Under the state’s law, employers must provide employees under the age of eighteen with a thirty minute break after five consecutive hours of work.
However, employees 18 years of age or older are not required to get a break.
An employer who does decide to give employees a break in excess of twenty minutes does not have to pay wages for lunch periods or other breaks if the employee is free to leave the worksite.
All breaks 20 minutes or shorter do have to be paid by the employer. This in accordance with federal law, not state law.
Click here to learn more about the New Jersey Minimum Wage Laws.
New Jersey Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development.
Commonly Asked New Jersey Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does New Jersey have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For New Jersey Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a New Jersey wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.