The New Hampshire Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
New Hampshire Overtime Pay Laws
The New Hampshire Overtime Laws generally require payment of overtime at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 in any one week.
If an employee is paid at an hourly rate, the employee must be paid for all time worked including overtime, if applicable. However, if the worker is a salaried employee, they do not necessarily have to receive overtime.
A salaried employee receives the fixed amount of money constituting compensation regardless of the quantity or quality of the work performed, or of the number of days and hours which the work is performed.
It is the responsibility of the employer to keep a true and accurate record of all hours worked by their employees, as well as all wages paid to each employee. These records must be kept for a minimum of at least four year.
Click here to learn more about the New Hampshire overtime pay laws.
New Hampshire Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour. There are some exceptions to this law.
Under state law, an employer cannot require that an employee work more than five consecutive hours without a thirty minute lunch break or meal period.
If the employer cannot allow thirty minutes, the employee must be paid if they are eating and working at the same time.
If an employee quits or resigns, the wages are due by the next regular payday. If the employee is fired, the wages are due within 72 hours form the time of the termination.
In regards to vacation leave, under New Hampshire Labor Laws, there is no statute that requires employers to provide employees with vacation benefits, either pair or unpaid.
Click here to learn more about the New Hampshire Minimum Wage Laws.
New Hampshire Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the New Hampshire Department of Labor.
Largest Cities in New Hampshire Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of New Hampshire provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
Commonly Asked New Hampshire Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does New Hampshire have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For New Hampshire Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a New Hampshire wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.