The Nebraska Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Nebraska Overtime Pay Laws
The State of Nebraska defers to the FLSA for its overtime laws. Under the FLSA, there are two types of employees – exempt and non-exempt.
Examples of an exempt employee includes administrative employees, computer employees, executive employees, outside sales employees, and more. Employer do not need to pay an exempt employee the mandated wage rate or overtime as long as the statutory exemption is met.
However, for non-exempt employees who work overtime hours, a minimum of 1 1/2 times their regular rate for all hours worked over forty (40) in a workweek must be paid by their employer.
There is no limit to how many overtime hours a non-exempt employee can work. As long as the employer is paying the overtime wages, an employee can work as many overtime hours that are required.
Nebraska Minimum Wage Laws
Click here to learn more about the Nebraska Minimum Wage Laws.
Depending on the industry that you work in, 30-minute lunches are not required by your employer.
If you are in the business of assembling plants, mechanical establishments, or workshops a 30-minute lunch break is required (if the employer works an 8-hour shift or longer).
For all other employees in business, lunch periods or any other type of break is not required and is given solely at the discretion of the employer. This holds true no matter how long a shift an employee works.
However, under federal law, if an employer chooses to provide additional breaks, they must be paid if lasting 20 minutes or less.
Nebraska Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
Nebraska’s current minimum wage is $9.00, with some exceptions, as compared to the $7.25 minimum wage set by federal law.
If an employer chooses to pay an employee in Nebraska minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage.
An excellent resource for information is the Nebraska Department of Labor.
Largest Cities in Nebraska Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Nebraska provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Grand Island
- North Platte
Commonly Asked Nebraska Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Nebraska have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Nebraska Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Nebraska wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.