The Missouri Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Missouri Overtime Pay Laws
Employees are entitled to overtime pay for time worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek at the rate of one and one-half times their regular rate of pay, unless otherwise exempt.
State and federal law does not allow employees to voluntarily waive their rights to overtime pay and accept straight time instead.
According to the MO Rev. Stat. 290.505, no employer shall employ any of his employees for a workweek longer than forty hours unless such employee receives compensation for his employment in excess of the hours above specified at a rate note less than one and one-half times the regular rate of pay at which he is employed.
Employees of an amusement or recreation business that meets the criteria set out in 29 U.S.C 213(a) (3) must be paid one and one-half times their regular compensation for any hours worked in excess of fifty-two hours in any one-week period.
There is no minimum or maximum number of hours an employee may be scheduled or asked to work. This in in accordance with the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.
Missouri Minimum Wage Laws
Missouri’s current minimum wage is $7.65 per hour.
However, employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate.
Tipped employees must be paid half of the state minimum wage of $3.675 per hour. However, if the tipped employee does not make up the other half of the minimum wage in tips, the employer is required to pay the difference so that the tipped employee is paid $3.75 per hour.
Employers not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing.
Labor laws do not require employers to provide workers a break of any kind, including a lunch hour. These provisions are either left up to the discretion of the employer, can be agreed upon by the employer and employee, or may be addressed by company policy or contract.
The entertainment industry, does however require breaks and rest periods for youth workers. A youth cannot work more than five and one-half hours without a meal break.
Missouri Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Missouri Department of Labor & Industry Relations website.
Largest Cities in Missouri Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Missouri provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Kansas City
- St. Louis
- Lee’s Summit
- St. Joseph
- St. Charles
- St. Peters
- Blue Springs
Commonly Asked Missouri Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay in Missouri?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Missouri have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate in Missouri?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Missouri Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Missouri wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 794-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.