The Mississippi Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer.
There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that set forth pay requirements from employers.
Mississippi Overtime Pay Laws
This issue has not been addressed by the law in this state, but the feral overtime pay laws apply.
The FLSA creates two classifications of workers for purpose of overtime wages. The two classifications are exempt and non-exempt.
Depending on what type of classification an employee is will determine if an employer is required to pay overtime pay to their employees who work overtime.
It is not uncommon for employers to misclassify an employee in order to avoid paying them overtime pay.
Overtime is considered any hours in excess of 40 hours in a work week. If you have worked over 40 hours and have not received overtime pay, it is important that you contact an employment lawyer to ensure that you are classified correctly and determine if you are eligible to receive wages.
Your employer has the authority to establish the work schedule and determine the hours to be worked. There are no limits on the overtime hours the employer can schedule.
Workers who refuse to work the scheduled hours may be terminated. Advance notice by an employer of the change in hours is not required.
Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.
Mississippi Minimum Wage Laws
This issue has not been addressed by the law in this state. As a result, Mississippi employers must comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25.
In addition, if an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage.
Just the same with minimum wage laws, the State does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees, thus the federal rule applies.
The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks.
However, if an employer chooses to do so, breaks usually lasting less than twenty minutes must be paid. Meal or lunch periods lasting 30 minutes or more do not need to be paid so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during that time.
Mississippi Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Mississippi Department of Employment Security website.
Largest Cities in Mississippi Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Mississippi provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Olive Branch
Commonly Asked Mississippi Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws in Mississippi. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Mississippi have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the Mississippi wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Mississippi Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages.
We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Mississippi wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review.
You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.