The Minnesota Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Minnesota Overtime Pay Laws
Minnesota employers must generally pay employees one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked per workweek in excess of 48 hours, unless otherwise exempt.
Under the State’s law, 48 hours is considered overtime, as compared to the federal law that states work after 40 hours is considered overtime.
The FLSA creates two classifications of workers for purpose of overtime wages. The two classifications are exempt and non-exempt.
Depending on what type of classification an employee is will determine if an employer is required to pay overtime pay to their employees who work overtime.
It is not uncommon for employers to misclassify an employee in order to avoid paying them overtime pay.
Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.
Minnesota Minimum Wage Laws
There are different levels of minimum wage under the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act.
Large employers (enterprises generating at least $625,000 in annual gross sales or business done) is required to pay employees at least $9.00 an hour. Small employers (enterprises generating less than $625,000 in annual gross sales or business done) is required to pay workers at least $7.25 an hour.
There is also a minimum wage for employees who are new and going through training. An employer must pay $4.90 an hour to new employees who are younger than age 20 during their first 90 consecutive days of employment.
Permanent or current employees may not be displaced by new employees covered by the training wage.
Workers who receive tips are still required to receive minimum wage per hour, plus any tips that they may earn.
Employees must be paid the current minimum-wage rate, regardless of the method of compensation.
Minnesota Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry website.
Largest Cities in Minnesota Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Minnesota provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- St. Paul
- Brooklyn Park
- St. Cloud
- Maple Grove
Commonly Asked Minnesota Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws in Minnesota. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay in Minnesota?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Minnesota have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Minnesota Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Minnesota wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.