The Maine Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Maine Overtime Pay Laws
Under the Maine Minimum Wage law, an employer cannot require an employee to work more than 40 hours in a week unless the employee is paid one and one-half times the employee’s regular hourly rate for all hours worked over 40 in one workweek, unless otherwise exempt.
According to the Maine Rev. Stat. 26.7.664, automobile mechanics, automobile parts clerks, automobile service writers and automobile salespersons, and public employees are exempt.
To the extent permitted under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938, as amended, 29 U.S. Code, Section 207(o), the overtime pay requirement applicable to executive or judicial employees may be met through compensatory time agreements.
Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.
Maine Minimum Wage Laws
The Maine minimum wage is $7.50 per hour. If the federal minimum wage is increased in excess of the Maine rate, the minimum wage in Maine is automatically increased to the same amount, effective on the same date as the increase in federal minimum wage.
The amount of the Maine minimum wage increase cannot exceed the then-existing Maine rate by more than $1.00 per hour.
According to the Maine Rev. Stat. 26.7.664 an employer may consider tips as part of the wages of a service employee, but such a tip credit may not exceed 50% of the minimum hourly wage.
Additionally, employers who use the tip credit must inform the affected employee in advance and must be able to show that the employee receives at least the minimum hourly wage when direct wages and the tip credit are combined.
An employer in a banquet or private club setting that adds a service charge shall notify the customer that the service charge does not represent a tip for service employees.
The employer in a banquet or private club setting may use some or all of any service charge to meet its obligation to compensate all employees at the rate required.
Maine Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Maine Department of Labor website.
Largest Cities in Maine Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Maine provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- South Portland
Commonly Asked Maine Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay in Maine?
- Does Maine have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed in Maine?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Maine Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Maine wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.