Louisiana Overtime Pay Laws: New Orleans Unpaid Wage Attorneys
Louisiana Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

Louisiana Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

The Louisiana Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.

The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.

Louisiana Overtime Pay Laws

This issue has not been addressed by the law in this state, however federal overtime laws apply.

The FLSA creates two classifications of workers for purpose of overtime wages. The two classifications are exempt and non-exempt.

Depending on what type of classification an employee is will determine if an employer is required to pay overtime pay to their employees who work overtime. It is not uncommon for employers to misclassify an employee in order to avoid paying them overtime pay.

Overtime is considered any hours in excess of 40 hours in a work week.

If you have worked over 40 hours and have not received overtime pay, it is important that you contact an employment lawyer to ensure that you are classified correctly and determine if you are eligible to receive wages.

In fact, this state has been known for overtime pay violations from numerous employers for not paying wages. Many instances of violations have occurred in the wake of unfortunately natural disasters such as hurricanes and the BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

Click here to learn more about overtime pay laws.

Louisiana Minimum Wage Laws

Louisiana has not established a minimum wage rate. In fact, legislature has forbidden local governmental subdivisions from establishing a minimum wage rate, which a private employer would be required to pay employees (RS 23:642).

However, even though the State prohibits the establishment of a minimum wage by state governments, Louisiana employers are still required to pay the federal minimum wage rate and comply with federal minimum wage laws. Currently, the federal minimum wage rate is $7.25.

The State however does have a law that requires employers to provide a meal period to employees under the age of 18 who are scheduled to work five consecutive hours. The meal period does not need to be paid.

For all workers age 18 or older, the federal rule applies. The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks.

However, if an employer chooses to do so, breaks usually lasting less than 20 minutes must be paid. Meals or lunch periods usually lasting 30 minutes or more do not need to be paid so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during that time period.

Click here for more information on Minimum Wage Laws.

Louisiana Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource

An excellent resource for information is the Louisiana Workforce Commission website.

Largest Cities in Louisiana Providing Jobs

The ten largest cities in the State of Louisiana provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:

  1. New Orleans
  2. Baton Rouge
  3. Shreveport
  4. Metairie
  5. Lafayette
  6. Lake Charles
  7. Kenner
  8. Bossier City
  9. Monroe
  10. Alexandria

Commonly Asked Louisiana Overtime Pay Questions

You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws in Louisiana. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:

  • How much is overtime pay?
  • Am I entitled to overtime pay?
  • Does Louisiana have mandatory overtime laws?
  • What is the Louisiana wage and hour law?
  • When is overtime owed?
  • What is the overtime rate?
  • How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?

Free Legal Advice For Louisiana Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims

If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.

To file a Louisiana wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.

Louisiana Overtime Pay Lawyers Review

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Workers Compensation Lawyer
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Text Now For Free Case Review