The Iowa Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Iowa Overtime Pay Laws
Iowa has no overtime law of general application. The right to overtime pay stems only from the policy or agreement with the employer or pursuant to the FLSA.
According to FLSA, an employer must pay a non-exempt employee a minimum of 1½ times their regular wage rate for all hours worked over forty (40) in a workweek.
There is no federal law limiting the number of hours an employer can require a non-exempt employee to work so long as they pay overtime. Like with minimum wage rates, some states have more stringent overtime laws.
Overtime laws in Iowa are designed to prevent workers from being exploited by their employers, with hourly wage earners (particularly those in blue-collar industries) being the primarily protected group.
Because of the nature of the work environment and working hours required by certain careers, there are a wide variety of specific exemptions to Iowa overtime eligibility.
Executives, administrators, professionals and other exemptions earning at least $455 per week do not have to be paid overtime under Section 13(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.
Click here to learn more about Iowa overtime pay laws.
Iowa Minimum Wage Laws
A minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is required for employers whose gross sales or business is at least $300,000. Although in no case shall the wage be less than the federal minimum wage set by the FLSA which is $7.25 per hour.
Iowa allows for an “initial employment wage rate,” which is $6.35 per hour, for a period of 90 days at the outset of employment. Tipped employees who customarily and regularly receive more than $30.00 a month in tips must be paid at least $4.35 an hour by their employer.
If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage.
Additionally, Iowa employers must grant a meal period of at least thirty (30) minutes to employees under the age of sixteen (16) scheduled to work five (5) or more consecutive hours.
Most small retail and service establishments grossing less than $300,000 annually are not required to pay the minimum wage.
Employers must grant a meal period of at least thirty (30) minutes to employees under the age of sixteen (16) scheduled to work five (5) or more consecutive hours.
However, the State does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees sixteen (16) years of age or older, thus the federal rule applies. The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks.
To learn more about the Minimum Wage Laws click here.
Iowa Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Iowa Department of Labor Services website.
Largest Cities in Iowa Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Iowa provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities.These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Des Moines
- Cedar Rapids
- Sioux City
- Iowa City
- Council Bluffs
- West Des Moines
Commonly Asked Iowa Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Iowa have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Iowa Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Iowa wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.