The Illinois Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Illinois Overtime Pay Laws
A nonexempt employee working more than 40 hours in any workweek is entitled to receive one and one-half their regular rate of pay for those additional hours of work, which equals out to be $12.38 every overtime hour.
If you earn more than the Illinois minimum wage rate, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked.
If the employee’s regular rate of pay is higher than the statutory minimum, the employee’s overtime compensation must be computed at a rate not less than one and one-half times such higher rate.
If your work involves manual labor (such as construction worker, factory attendant, cashier, etc) you are probably protected under overtime law. All first-responders, including police, paramedics, and firefighters, are specifically offered overtime protection under the FLSA.
Overtime laws in Illinois are designed to prevent workers from being exploited by their employers, with hourly wage earners (particularly those in blue-collar industries) being the primarily protected group. Because of the nature of the work environment and working hours required by certain careers, there are a wide variety of specific exemptions including but not limited to: executives, administrators, professionals, external salespeople, independent contractors, and more.
Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.
Illinois Minimum Wage Laws
Effective July 1, 2010, the minimum wage for employees ages 18 and over increased to $8.25 per hour.
Those under 18 years of age may be paid 50 cents per hour less than the regular minimum wage rate or 30 cents per hour less than the regular tipped employee wage rate, where applicable.
Those over 18 who are in their first 90 calendar days of employment may be paid 50 cents less than the regular minimum wage rate provided the employment is not occasional or temporary.
Tipped employees must be paid minimum wage, but an employer may take credit for the employee’s tips in an amount not to exceed 40% of the wages.
An employer may pay a training wage for tipped employees 18 and over in the amount of $4.65 for the first 90 days if applying the tip credit of 40% or $7.75 if utilizing the tip credit. After 90 days, the rate must be increased to $4.95 if not utilizing the tip credit.
Click here for more information on Minimum Wage Laws.
Illinois Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Illinois Department of Labor website.
Largest Cities in Illinois Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Illinois provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
Commonly Asked Illinois Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Illinois have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Illinois Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file an Illinois wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.