The Idaho Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Idaho Overtime Pay Laws
Idaho does not have overtime pay provisions separate from the federal FLSA. The FLSA creates two classifications of employees for purpose of minimum wage rates and overtime.
The two classifications of employees are exempt (employers do not need to pay the mandated minimum wage amount as long as the statutory exemption requirements are met) and non-exempt (employees under the age of 20 may be paid not less than $4.25 per hour for the first ninety (90) consecutive calendar days of employment.
If employees received tips as part of their wages, they must be paid a minimum of $2.13 per hour and their total wages (wages + tips) must be equal or greater than the standard minimum wage rate.
Generally, a business is covered by the FLSA if it has $500,000 or more in annual sales. Even if your employer is smaller, however, it is still covered by the FLSA (and must pay overtime) if it is engaged in what Congress calls “interstate commerce,” meaning it conducts business between states.
If an employer is covered by the FLSA, it must pay overtime to all eligible employees unless they fit into an exception to the law.
If you fall into one of these exception categories, you are “exempt” from the federal overtime law, which means you are not entitled to overtime including: executives, professionals, independent contractors, volunteers, outside salespeople, computer specialists, employees of seasonal amusement or recreational services, seamen, employees of certain newspapers, and more.
For more information click here.
Idaho Minimum Wage Laws
In 2007, Idaho amended its minimum wage law to conform to the federal minimum wage rates set forth in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. Currently Idaho’s minimum wage rate is the same as the federal minimum wage rate which is $7.25. Some exceptions apply.
The minimum tipped wage in Idaho is $3.35 per hour effective July 24, 2007. To determine the wage of tipped employees, an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage must equal the minimum hourly wage. If it doesn’t, the employer must make up the difference.
Any portion of tips paid to an employee, which is shared with other employees under a tip pooling or similar arrangement, shall not be deemed, for the purpose of this section, to be tips actually received by the employee; therefore, only the portion of tips actually retained by the employee may be counted toward the tip credit.
In instances where the Idaho law and the federal law conflict, an employer is required to comply with the law that will pay employees the higher wage rate.
Click here for more information on Minimum Wage Laws.
Idaho Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Idaho Department of Labor website.
Largest Cities in Idaho Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Idaho provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Idaho Falls
- Coeur d’Alene
- Twin Falls
- Post Falls
Commonly Asked Idaho Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Idaho have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Idaho Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Idaho wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.