The Hawaii Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Hawaii Overtime Pay Laws
Overtime is required to be paid at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is employed. In Hawaii, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week. Employees non-exempt from overtime pay laws include but not limited to: dairy, sugarcane, and seasonal agricultural workers must receive overtime if they work more than 48 hours per week.
In Hawaii, a business is covered by the FLSA if it has $500,000 or more in annual sales. Even if your employer is smaller, however, it is still covered by the FLSA (and must pay overtime) if it is engaged in what Congress calls “interstate commerce,” meaning, it conducts business between states. If your employer is so small or local that it isn’t covered by the FLSA (and this will be a pretty rare occurrence), it still might be covered by your state’s overtime law.
Visit http://labor.hawaii.gov/ for more information on overtime pay laws.
Hawaii Minimum Wage Laws
The minimum wage in the private sector under the Hawaii Wage and Hour Law is $8.50 per hour. If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. Because Hawaii’s wage rate is higher than the federal rate, an employer must be compliant with Hawaiian law and pay employees $8.50 per hour.
The FLSA allows employers to pay a lower hourly minimum wage, as long as that wage plus the tips the employee earns adds up to at least the full minimum wage for each hour worked. If not, the employer has to make up the difference. In Hawaii, employers can pay tipped employees an hourly wage of $7.00, as long as the employee’s tips bring the total hourly wage up to the state minimum wage.
Additionally, in Hawaii, the only requirement for breaks is found in Chapter 390, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), Child Labor Law, which requires employers to provide at least a thirty minute rest or meal period after five consecutive hours of work for fourteen- and fifteen-year-old minors.
Click here for more information on Minimum Wage Laws.
Hawaii Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Hawaii Department of Labor & Industrial Relations Division website.
Largest Cities in Hawaii Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Hawaii provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Pearl City
- Ewa Gentry
- Ewa Beach
Commonly Asked Hawaii Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Hawaii have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Hawaii Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Hawaii wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.