Connecticut Overtime Pay Laws: Hartford Unpaid Wage Attorneys
Connecticut Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

Connecticut Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

The Connecticut Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.

The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.

Connecticut Overtime Pay Laws

With the exception of hospital workers, overtime is due for hours actually worked in excess of 40 hours per week.  Hospital workers with whom an agreement exists before the performance of work need not be paid overtime unless they work in excess of 80 hours in a 14-day period. However, overtime is paid at the rate of one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay. An employer must also comply with federal overtime laws. Federal law will apply in cases where it benefits employees more, otherwise state law applies.

A worker is not due overtime after working 8 hours in a day, or on a Sunday, or on a holiday.

Click here for more information on overtime pay laws.

Connecticut Minimum Wage Laws

The Connecticut minimum wage is currently set at $9.60. Should the federal minimum wage ever exceed this rate, the state minimum wage will be increased to a one-half percent above the federal standard.

If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instance in Connecticut, the state minimum wage law will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than federal law.

Your employer must provide you a meal period of at least 30 consecutive minutes if you have worked 7 and one-half or more consecutive hours.  However, the Labor Commissioner will exempt your employer from this requirement if one of the following conditions is present:

  1. Complying with this requirement would endanger public safety;
  2. The duties of the position can only be performed by one employee;
  3. The employer employs less than 5 employees on that shift at that one business location (this only applies to that particular shift); or
  4. The employer’s operation requires that employees be available to respond to urgent conditions, and that the employees are compensated for the meal period.

Connecticut Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource

An excellent resource for information is the Connecticut Department of Labor website.

Largest Cities in Connecticut Providing Jobs

The ten largest cities in the State of Connecticut provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:

  1. Bridgeport
  2. Hartford
  3. New Haven
  4. Stamford
  5. Waterbury
  6. Norwalk
  7. Danbury
  8. New Britain
  9. West Hartford
  10. Greenwich

Commonly Asked Connecticut Overtime Pay Questions

You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws in Connecticut. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:

  • How much is overtime pay in Connecticut?
  • Am I entitled to overtime pay in Connecticut?
  • Does Connecticut have mandatory overtime laws?
  • What is the Connecticut wage and hour law?
  • When is overtime owed in Connecticut?
  • What is the overtime rate in Connecticut?
  • How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?

Free Legal Advice For Connecticut Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims

If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.

To file a Connecticut wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.

Connecticut Overtime Pay Lawyers Review

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Workers Compensation Lawyer
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Text Now For Free Case Review