The California Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
California Overtime Pay Laws
Virtually all California employers are required to pay overtime compensation to their nonexempt employees, unless specifically exempted. Employers must pay premium rates when employees work beyond specific daily or weekly limits.
Thus, a nonexempt employee is entitled to receive one-and-one-half times his or her regular hourly rate of pay for working more than 8 hours but less than 12 hours a workday, or over 40 hours in a workweek, or for working the first 8 hours on the seventh consecutive workday in one workweek. If the employee works more than 12 hours in one workday, or more than 8 hours on the seventh consecutive workday in one workweek, the employee is entitled to receive two times the employee’s regular hourly rate.
An employee is not entitled to the seventh day premium unless the employee has worked on all the preceding 6 days in the same workweek.
However, there are some exemptions including: executive, administrative, professional, employees in the computer software field, employees directly employed by the State or any political subdivision, outside salespersons, any individual who is the parent, spouse, child or legally adopted of the employer, drivers whose hours are regulated by the U.S. Department of Transportation, and more.
To learn more about overtime pay laws click here.
California Minimum Wage Laws
The California minimum wage is currently set at $10.00 per hour. California employers must also comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25.
If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instance in California, the state minimum wage law will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than federal law.
Employees must be provided with a meal period of no less than a 30-minute when they work more than five (5) consecutive hours (more than six (6) hours for employees in the motion picture industry in specific situations). Unless the employee is relieved of all duties during the entire 30-minute meal period and is free to leave the employer’s premises, the meal period must be counted as hours worked and paid at the employee’s regular rate of pay. Visit http://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/wage-and-hour-laws/state-wage-and-hour-laws/california/ for more information on Minimum Wage Laws.
California Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the California Department of Industrial Relations website.
Largest Cities in California Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of California provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Los Angeles
- San Diego
- San Jose
- East San Gabriel Valley
- San Francisco
- Central Contra Costa
- Long Beach
Commonly Asked California Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does California have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For California Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a California wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.