The Arkansas Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Arkansas Overtime Pay Laws
The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act provides that no employer with 4 or more employees shall employ any of his employees for a work week longer than forty (40) hours unless the employee receives compensation for his employment in excess of the hours above specified at a rate not less than one and one-half (1 ½) times the regular rate of pay at which he is employed.
The FLSA automatically qualifies certain types of workers who meet overtime pay requirements for guaranteed overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a single week (or daily overtime limits set by Arkansas overtime laws). If your work involves manual labor (such as construction worker, factory attendant, cashier, etc) you are probably protected under overtime law. However, there are some exemptions that include: executives, administrators, and other professionals earning at least $455 per week, as well as others.
Click here to learn more about overtime pay laws.
Arkansas Minimum Wage Laws
The Arkansas minimum wage currently stands at $8.50 per hour. An employer must also comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25. A number of employees are excluded or exempted from the state’s minimum wage requirements.
If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage.
The State’s law does not require employers to provide meals or breaks (except to children under the age of 16 employed in the entertainment industry). However, if an employer chooses to provide a break period of 20 minutes or less, it must be paid. Additionally, if an employer chooses to provide a meal period (typically 30 minutes or longer), it may be unpaid so long as the employee is completely relieved of all work duties during that time period.
Arkansas Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Arkansas Department of Labor & Industry Employment Relations Division website.
Largest Cities in Arkansas Providing Jobs
The ten largest cities in the State of Arkansas provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
- Little Rock
- Fort Smith
- North Little Rock
- Pine Bluff
- Hot Springs
Commonly Asked Arkansas Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Arkansas have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Arkansas Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Arkansas wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.