Arizona Overtime Pay Laws: Phoenix Unpaid Wage Attorneys
Arizona Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

Arizona Overtime Pay Laws: Wage & Hour Lawyers

The Arizona Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.

The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.

Arizona Overtime Pay Laws

There is no state laws governing the payment of overtime, however federal laws do apply that are set by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The FLSA creates two classifications of workers for purpose of overtime wages. The two classifications are exempt and non-exempt. Depending on what type of classification an employee is will determine if an employer is required to pay overtime pay to their employees who work overtime. It is not uncommon for employers to misclassify an employee in order to avoid paying them overtime pay. Overtime is considered any hours in excess of 40 hours in a work week. If you have worked over 40 hours and have not received overtime pay, it is important that you contact an employment lawyer to ensure that you are classified correctly and determine if you are eligible to receive wages.

Except for employees under 16 years old, employers in Arizona are generally allowed to require employees to work mandatory overtime, even on weekends and holidays.

Arizona Minimum Wage Laws

Arizona sets the minimum wage at $7.80 per hour. Every employer covered under the Act is required to pay each employee wages not less than this amount. The State does not provide for a training or sub-minimum wage for different classes of employees (e.g., young workers, students, etc.).

This required minimum wage shall be paid for all hours worked, regardless of the frequency of payment and regardless of whether the wage is paid on an hourly, salaried, commissioned, piece rate, or any other basis. It applies to both part-time or temporary employees as well. The only exception is independent contractors. In this type of position, the Arizona Minimum Wage Act does not apply.

For an employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an employer may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage. This means that an employer must pay not less than $4.80 per hour in direct wages for a tipped employee. If, however, an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s direct wages do not equal the State’s minimum hourly wage, then the employer must make up the difference.

Arizona Minimum Wage & Hour Law Resource

An excellent resource for information is the Industrial Commission of Arizona.

Largest Cities in Arizona Providing Jobs

The ten largest cities in the State of Arizona provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:

  1. Phoenix
  2. Tucson
  3. Mesa
  4. Chandler
  5. Glendale
  6. Scottsdale
  7. Gilbert
  8. Deer Valley
  9. Tempe
  10. Peoria

Commonly Asked Arizona Overtime Pay Questions

You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:

  • How much is overtime pay?
  • Am I entitled to overtime pay?
  • Does Arizona have mandatory overtime laws?
  • What is the minimum wage and hour law?
  • When is overtime owed?
  • What is the overtime rate?
  • How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?

Free Legal Advice For Arizona Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims

If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.

To file an Arizona wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.

Arizona Overtime Pay Lawyers Review

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Workers Compensation Lawyer
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Text Now For Free Case Review