The Alaska Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws specifically set how much and when a worker must be paid.
The laws are set forth by state statute and non-exempt employers must comply with these laws. There are numerous exceptions to these laws based upon the type of employment, the classification of the job, the type and manner of compensation, and the size of the employer. There are also federal wage laws pursuant to the Federal Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that also set forth pay requirements from employers.
Alaska Overtime Pay Laws
The Alaska Wage and Hour Act (AWHA) requires employers with four or more employees to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek or any day worked by the employee in excess of 8 hours. Overtime pay is flexible; those employees choosing to work a 10 hour day, 40 hour workweek schedule will be rewarded overtime pay after 10 hours worked in a day. Those employees choosing to work an 8 hour day, 40 hour workweek schedule will be rewarded overtime pay after 8 hours worked in a day.
However, the following are exceptions to the requirement of payment of overtime including: an individual employed in handling, packing, storing, pasteurizing, drying, preparing in their raw or natural state or canning of agricultural or horticultural commodities for market, employee of small mining operations,switchboard operator, seaman and more.
Visit http://labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/sum-wh-act.pdf to learn more about the overtime laws.
Alaska Minimum Wage Laws
Alaska has historically set the minimum wage at an hourly rate that has been higher than the federal minimum wage. Prior to January 1, 2009, the state’s minimum wage rate was $7.15 per hour. In 2009, the minimum wage was raised to $7.25 per hour. Subsequent to 2009, the Alaska statute requires that the state minimum wage rate must be at an amount $0.50 an hour more than federal minimum wage as set by Congress.
If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instances in Alaska, the federal minimum wage law will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than state law.
Under State law, employers are not required to provide employees with vacation leave, either paid or unpaid. If an employer chooses to provide vacation leave, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.Visit http://www.employmentlawhandbook.com/wage-and-hour-laws/state-wage-and-hour-laws/alaska/ to learn more about Minimum Wage Laws.
Alaska Minimum Wage & Overtime Laws Resource
An excellent resource for information is the Alaska Department of Labor & Workforce Development website.
Largest Cities in Alaska Providing Jobs
The 10 largest cities in the State of Alaska provide jobs and income to both their own residents and those from outside communities. These include jobs in both public sector and private sector. The cities are listed below:
Commonly Asked Alaska Overtime Pay Questions
You probably have questions about the overtime pay laws. Our legal team will answer all of your questions and concerns, including:
- How much is overtime pay?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Does Alaska have mandatory overtime laws?
- What is the minimum wage and hour law?
- When is overtime owed?
- What is the overtime rate?
- How do I get my unpaid overtime pay?
Free Legal Advice For Alaska Unpaid Overtime Pay Claims
If you were not paid the required minimum wage pay or overtime pay, you have the legal right to pursue a wage claim against the past or present employer. There are strict time deadlines so you should contact our unpaid overtime lawyers today to determine whether you are owed unpaid wages. We will represent you on a No Win, No Fee basis so there are no legal fees or expenses unless we recover your unpaid lost wages for you.
To file a Alaska wage law claim, you should contact our highly qualified overtime lawyers today at (855) 754-2795 for a free, no obligation Case Review. You can also complete the Free Unpaid Overtime Case Review box on this page and an experienced attorney will contact you shortly.